Birchard Public Library
Birchard Public Library of Sandusky County in Fremont Ohio Link to Gibsonburg Public Library Link to Woodville Public Library
Instagram YouTube Facebook Twitter Pinterest Birchard Teen Instagram
Newsletter ContactCalendar Catalog & MyAccountHome






Main Library
Mon-Thurs 9-8:30
Friday 9-5:30
Saturday 9-5
(Summer Saturdays 9-3)
Sunday 1-5
(September - May)
Map

Branches
Mon & Wed 12-8
Tuesday 9-5:30
Thursday 12-5:30
Friday 12-4
Saturday 10-3

Computer Classes
Third Thursday Movie Club
Birchard Movie Classics
Pick of the Litter Book Club


Birchard Public Library's "Pick of the Litter"
Book Discussion Group

February 14 - Foundation by Isaac Asimov. For twelve thousand years the Galactic Empire has ruled supreme. Now it is dying. Only Hari Seldon, creator of the revolutionary science of psychohistory, can see into the future--a dark age of ignorance, barbarism, and warfare that will last thirty thousand years. To preserve knowledge and save humanity, Seldon gathers the best minds in the Empire--both scientists and scholars--and brings them to a bleak planet at the edge of the galaxy to serve as a beacon of hope for future generations. He calls this sanctuary the Foundation.
March 14 - Little: a Novel by Edward Carey. In the tradition of Gregory Maguire's Wicked and Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus , Edward Carey's Little is a darkly endearing cavalcade of a novel--a story of art, class, determination, and how we hold on to what we love.
April 11 - The Library Book by Susan Orlean. On the morning of April 29, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the Los Angeles Public Library. As the moments passed, the patrons and staff who had been cleared out of the building realized this was not the usual fire alarm. As one fireman recounted, "Once that first stack got going, it was 'Goodbye, Charlie.'" The fire was disastrous: it reached 2000 degrees and burned for more than seven hours. By the time it was extinguished, it had consumed four hundred thousand books and damaged seven hundred thousand more. Investigators descended on the scene, but more than thirty years later, the mystery remains: Did someone purposefully set fire to the library--and if so, who?
  • All meetings are held in the BPL Meeting Room from 7-8:15 p.m. unless otherwise noted.
  • Books may be requested through the Library Catalog at any time or by contacting the Reference Department.
  • New Members and Walk-ins are ALWAYS WELCOME! Drop by and share your thoughts, or just listen!
  • All programs are free and open to the public. Please call 419-334-7101,
    ext. 216 for more information or registration.

To view the past selections from 2002-present, click here.

 


Home
 | Site Map Birchard A-Z | Site Search | WebmasterContact Us
Fremont | Gibsonburg | Green Springs | Woodville

Birchard Public Library of Sandusky County
423 Croghan St         Fremont, OH 43420       419-334-7101
Contact

Disclaimer

January 11, 2019